Thoughts on accurate, inexpensive .223?

carguychris

Howdy all,

I've been contemplating my gun shopping list for 2008. ;) I intend to buy another rifle- something with a little more power and long-range capability than my 10/22.

I was originally contemplating a pistol-caliber lever carbine or maybe a "sport utility", but I really enjoy shooting small targets at long range, and I'd like something that will work at REALLY long range, like 300 yds. I'm beginning to think that a .357 lever gun or AK-platform rifle won't give me the accuracy I expect, and since I normally fire slowly anyway, maybe I shouldn't make my decision based on rate-of-fire and ammo capacity!

I'm tempted to go with a .223 because the ammo is cheap, you can buy it anywhere, the amount of reloading info is simply staggering, frangible bullets are easy to find (reducing the chances of ricochets), and it doesn't kick very hard- my Mosin-Nagant, while fun at first for the giant BOOM, gets pretty tiring after 40-50 rounds. :(

Finally, I don't want to spend more than ~$600. It seems like Remington, Savage, and CZ all offer entry-level .223 bolt-actions at around this price, and some even come with scopes pre-installed! :D Obviously, in this price range, I can't expect sub-MOA accuracy, but I'm confident that any of them will be able to shoot more accurately than a Romanian WASR. :rolleyes:

Any thoughts or comments? Am I barking up the wrong tree? Anybody have any opinions on the specific model of rifle I should choose?

Thanks! :cool:

ISC

photo_survivor.jpg

H&R single shot in .223 or .308. I have a friend with both and he swears it is the most accurate rifle he ever had. They are also cheap and indestrucible. they have a storage compartmrnt in the buttstock for ammo or gear.

Yankee Doodle

Savage. There is NO better, more accurate bolt action rifle for anywhere near the price. You will get sub MOA accuracy with the right load. Mine shoots 3/4" groups at 200 yards all day, if I do my part.