Things that go "boom" in the night...

Bogie

Okay, around midnight, something went "boom" in the neighborhood - I'm currently living in a small subdivision of maybe 45-50 houses in a little town in Missouri that has two bars and two churches...

Now, I'm a 1990s Knob Creek veteran. I've heard some GOOD fireworks in my day... And I thought this was a large motor vehicle accident, or a pretty good sized explosive device. It was loud enough to wake Jen (after sleeping pills, etc., and with her hearing aids out).

So, thinking about the first, I pocketed the house gun of the week, and headed for the door. I turned off the living room light, and the porch light was already off. I told Jen to leave the lights off, and opened the door right when she turned on the living room light. A few seconds later, the porch light came on.

Sheesh.

Now, I'm a "night" person. So this mildly irritated me... Nobody outside in the yard tho, so I mosey across the road to a neighbor's place - they're standing in the door. They think that some of the other neighbors were playing "hold my beer and watch me do this." About 20 minutes later, the local po-po arrived, and had a talking to with the rowdy bunch, who didn't know nothin' about nothin'...

During this, Jen explains to me that the lights scare people off. Great theory. But it's a lot easier to see your surroundings when you're not in the middle of them. And I can't shake her on it.

And she commences to freak out until about 2:00...

Smokey Joe

Helping the helpful...

Bogie--You know she's gonna do it. You've talked with her, and she is unshakable. But you're the one who, potentially would be "caught in the headlights," so to speak.

If it were me, and the occasion came up again, I'd pause on the porch, reach up, and give the porch-light bulb half-a-turn counter-clockwise. Then go about my business dealing with the potential emergency.

It's your *, so you get to make the call on that one, IMHO.