The long and the short of it

BlueTrain

This thread was inspired by the thread about the S&W Model 60 with a 5-inch barrel over in the revolver forum.

I've been playing around with handguns for over 40 years having been through quite a selection. I'm not done by a long shot but I've had to slow down a bit. I want to learn as much as I can about, well, all of them. Among other things I've noticed a trend over the years. Handguns are getting stocky and I'm not sure it's a good thing.

There have been short barrelled handguns around since there have been handguns, though the Philadelphia Deringers really were the beginning. Then came the Remington derringers and even Colt made a few (relatively) short barrelled models. After the turn of the century there were lots and lots of short barrelled pocket revolvers, some of which would make Davis and Jennings proud of their products. But there were always long barrelled versions of small pistols and revolvers. Sometimes the larger revolvers were cut down, sometimes literally, but short barrelled large autos were in the future mostly. One version of the 1900 .38ACP was called a pocket model.

These days a long barrelled, small frame revolver is nearly extinct and for that matter, many full size automatics barely have 4" barrels. Why do I think that the fact the 1911 has a five inch barrel is something that keeps it popular? I hate to admit that I don't have one and that my own 9mm has only a 3 1/2-inch barrel and that's what started me to thinking about this.