The LCR in .357

Shadi Khalil

Hello all,

Recently my model 637 (edc) went back to the factory and needed to be replaced for the second time. Instead of another 637, I am being sent a 638, I think I'm pretty much done with the 637, and possibly, S&W all together.

My whole experience has been a giant head ache. S&W has had the gun for going on 4 months and can't give me a rough estimate on when I'll get my replacement. It's beginning to be too much like my Taurus experiences of yore; days I'd soon rather forget than relive.

One gun I've always wanted but have never took the plunge is a S&W 340PD. Considering my Air Weight experience, Im obviously hesitant to spend $1000 on a lighter S&W shooting a bigger caliber. So that has got me thinking about the LCR in .357

I have little to no experience with the LCR, outside of handling one a couple times at the LGS. From what I recall, the grip felt good but the trigger didn't do it for me. It didn't have the same positive return as the j-frame trigger and felt a bit.....spongey?

I really need to actually shoot one before I so anything but was wondering; for those who made switch, how is it working out for you? Also, does the LCR have the same ammo restrictions as the S&W Airlites? Thanks in advance.

wayneinFL

What problems have you had with the 637? I've had pretty good luck with the S&W snubbies I've had- 36, 12, 34, 637, 638, 642, 340PD, 432PD.

Even though I've had a 340PD, I think I've only shot 20 rounds of 357 through it. Maybe the LCR would be a little less brutal- maybe the plastic frame would absorb some of the recoil. I'm interested to see the replies on this thread.

camsdaddy

The only complaint I had with the LCR was that I would pass the trigger. I know this could have been fixed by releasing it further but when I want to shoot I want to shoot then.

DealHunter