The beginners guide to 357 snubby ammo selection.

Eric Larsen

Let me start this by saying Im not an expert. My experience is my own and thats all I will use in this thread. Ive owned snub nosed 357 revolvers on and off for 15 years and currently favor an SP101 as a CCW.

My intent with this thread is to shed some light on the truths, regarding 357 Mag ammo in regards to a short barrelled revolver.
I claim to know nothing and if anyone has verifiable information that contradicts what I am stating here...please set me straight.

**First the biggest issue brought up regarding the 357 chambering in smaller revolver is RECOIL. There are three main factors that have a direct effect on recoil relating to the gun itself.

"Actual recoil"...or IE, the forces transferred to the gun directly by the bullet as its fired.
"Percieved recoil"...this is the recoil that is transferred from the gun to the shooter...and ultimately, the shooters "perception" of felt recoil.

Actual recoil is effected by the guns WEIGHT, the BARREL LENGTH and the specific load used while shooting the gun. The lighter the gun, the more actual recoil it will have. Barrel length is not a variable in this thread as were discussing barrel lengths within a given range and different loads & bullet weights will be discussed later on.

Percieved recoil can be effected by ALOT of variables. This is up to the shooters and is a personal thought process. IMO, the main physical and quantifiable thing you can do to a snub to reduce percieved recoil is the grip. A bigger and softer...RUBBER..
grip absorb or take away the actual recoil that is tranmitted to the shooter.

How do I know how strong my ammo really is?
Muzzle energy is the most common way that Ammo makers and gun enthusiasts "state how much power/energy a specific bullet has" or "is the total energy that is transferable from the bullet to its intended target", in a constant and quantifialble formula

How to figure any bullets energy from any gun!