The Army's New Cartridge Will Be Epic...

TXAZ

Saw that article.
Kinda like the M-16 “revolutionizing“ warfare?
Maybe after several years of actual use.
This is a very new system. And as a systems engineer, I wouldn’t want to bet my life (or anyone else’s life) on it until we’ve seen at least 2 generations of hardware and SW that is at least revision 3.3.
Been there, done that. Be careful.

TXAZ, I think you are being very optimistic! The only things that seem to exist for any of this are the concepts (design wishes?) and random bits of technology, none of which are in a format ready for integration into this design. All they are missing is the rifle, optics, firing system, cartridge, bullet, etc., but as stated in the article, they have a whole lot of "capabilities."

It is going to be really interesting to see just how many of these concepts actually survive into the final version. Already, it would seem that their initial ballistics have been scaled down. No doubt do they won't be the only compromises. I suspect the final version either won't be nearly as revolutionary as they are describing, or it will be so expensive and/or technical that it will not be commonplace.

There are little bits and pieces of some of this out there: Trackingpoint, the MARS recoiless rifle, various reduced weight ammo schemes, maybe even stellite lined barrels?

The part I am not seeing is ammo load out. A reduced weight .270 Win Mag is still likely to be heavier than 5.56 and rate of fire and ammo load are going to be issues. Actual live fire training is no small thing either - who wants to go through any of the existing shoot houses in North America with a rifle that penetrates any body armor currently made at 600m?

There are bits and parts of this that have been demonstrated in controlled conditions. But there are key parts of the proposed technology that just don’t exist in the commercial market.

COSteve