TFL Musicians--how do you carry at gigs?

Dave R

The thread on motorcycle "what do you ride and how do you carry" had a small hijack about musicians--what do you play and how do you carry at gigs?

So I thought I'd start a dedicated thread for TFL musicians. What DO you play and how DO you carry at gigs?

I play a '73 Jazz bass through a Crate BX-100 amp. Play in an "oldies" band.

Carry a P-3AT in strongside pocket hoster. If its a "dress-up gig" like a wedding, I'll carry it crossdraw in the left inside pocket of a blazer or jacket.

After all, you never know when some belligerant drunk metalhead is going to get agressive in the middle of your Carpenters cover set...(j/k)

Jamie Young

I worked in the music business for 11yrs and I couldn't do it 90% of the time. Security checks and being in clubs and bars with a firearm is a no no. Plus I was travelling across State lines often.

I've cheated in bad areas but sometimes I kept an empty beer bottle in the pocket just incase.

What did I play? 2 Jazz Basses, Fender P-bass, G&L bass and a GK800 with 115T EV cabinet.

Cello
Piano
Guitar
Roadie
Studio Engineer

tcdrennen

I haven't played a gig in about 7 years now ( :eek: where DID the time go :confused: ) but I'd probably go with exactly what I carry all the time - .45 Kimber Pro Carry in Milt Sparks VM2 IWB at 4 o'clock.

Oh, and the axe is a '64 L-series Strat through a Fender Studio Lead; used to have a MESA/Boogie Mk IV Combo, but the little Fender is fine for occasional gigs and mikes well through a Shure 57 if needed.

swingset

Packing in liqour establishments here is a no-no.

I carry a 10" Swamp Rat knife instead when playing. It's sheathed inside the back of my amp rig. I also never forget that when I'm on stage or near it, I'm carrying a very heavy piece of alder with a Fender sticker on the "handle". God help who gets nailed with that. :D

45King