Taurus 24/7 modification

cheddar

Has anyone modified the 24/7 yet? I wanted to know if the trigger is able to be "worked"? I also want to change the sights from straight 8 sights, to something more user friendly. Those are the only two things I have found that I dont like. The trigger has some play in it(wondering if it can be smoother).

9mm_prn

Figure I'd bump this.

I have a Mil PRO and a 24/7PRO (both great guns) and would like to hear if anyone has been doing trigger jobs.

Oh yeah, the Mil PRO's have the same trigger as your 24/7. Didn't want you to think I was hijacking your thread. ;)

Micrometer

Taurus PT 140 Millennium Pro

Here's what I did to my PT-140. I believe it's similar to the 24/7. I know there's a new single action 24/7 that reverts to DA but I'm not familiar if its innards are different.

I'm certainly not a gunsmith by trade and consider myself an enthusiast. Proceed with this data entirely at your own risk.

The DAO pull is very smooth and I'm very pleased with the results. The gun has functioned flawlessly for 400 rounds (UMC and CCI 180 MC).

Trigger/Trigger Bar

1 Trigger bar and trigger hook - relieve hook tip and round off trigger bar engagement area slightly.

2 Polished trigger bar firing pin contact with stone then dremel/flitz.
3 Dremel/flitz the trigger bar and ramp where they contact.
4 Insure trigger bar rides free in the frame.

Firing Pin

1 Insure that firing pin and slide hole are burr free. Polish with 600 grit mylar.
2 Stoned firing pin front and rear contact area where trigger bar engages then dremel/flitz.

Slide

1 Relieve trigger bar firing pin lock protrusion with swiss needle file on underside of the slide for take down ease and dremel/flitz.

2 Arkansas stoned the center of the slide underside from the breech to right in front of the trigger bar then dremel/flitz.
3 Arkansas stoned the slide where barrel chamber engagement occurs and dremel/flitz.
4 Cleaned out recoil spring cutout in slide with solvent/patch.