Taking My Model 70 to a 800Meter and 1000yd Range?

Jamie Young

I'm going to two ranges in the next month and I want to get some suggestions on shooting this far out.

I've been shooting 150gr HPBT and FMJs out of My gun for the last 4 years. I'm not sure if I'll hit anything that far out, but, I assume I should move up to heavier bullets?

My 150's have made it out to 600yd but I haven't shot any further. Should I bounce all the way up to 170gr or 180gr? I've seen My 150gr bullets get blown 2ft at 500yds so I'm aware of the fact 30gr more might make the difference between a hit and a miss due to windage.

Do you think a 1 MOA gun is going to hit at 1000yds?

The reason I ask is, a guy I met at the range a few weeks ago (who seemed to know what he was talking about) start talking about certain bullets and the "Cone Affect" or is it "Effect"? He said due to barrel twist some bullets won't cut it out that far. I only have about 60rd to take with me so I don't want to waste My time trying to hit something that far out when its futile to begin with.

Last edited:

stick

What caliber is your rifle and what do you want to hit at that range? Also you stated "1MOA", is what range did you measure it at? I've found my 0.5 MOA groups at 100yds are bigger (MOA wise) at distance. That's from my reading of the conditions not any mystical nonlinear regression of the parabolic trajectory.... sorry I'm back.

Best thing to do is grab your ballistics charts and start figuring. Generally, you want the bullet to still be super-sonic at the given distance, remember to account for air density (mainly temperature and altitiude). Then to buck wind drift use a bullet with a high ballistic coefficient. I'd recommend doing some load development to get your rig to shoot <1MOA.

Sounds like you maybe shooting a 308 or '06. For the 308 try the 175gr Match Kings. In '06, look at 190gr (or heavier) Match Kings.

Sounds like some good range time heading your way.

Jamie Young