switching hands

birdshot

due to a recent right elbow injury, i find i can no longer hold a handgun in my right hand. i can get by in a modified weaver, seems the straight arm is the problem. anyway wishing to shoot one handed i am switching to my left hand. i have shot left handed occasionally and have always had some disappointing groups. i will be shooting 22 until i can get the hand coordination needed for consistant groups. any tips or advise?

Rigby1962

Probably just lots of practice would help and lot of dry firing to get the muscle memory set. I can get by with my left but not going to be entering any contest soon.

MrBorland

Are you talking one-handed, weak hand, shooting double action? That's a very tough combo, so don't set your bar high at first. I started shooting one-handed double action (bullseye style) about a month or 2 ago just for the challenge. Of course, I was shooting using my normal right hand. I've also been practicing 2-handed shooting from my weak side, and now I'm starting 1-handed weak side, double action.

What I found is that my brain already wired correct site picture and steady trigger pull, so I just needed to strengthen my left trigger finger and continue focusing on the fundamentals. My advice, then, in no particular order, would be to:

1) Do lots of dry fire with your weak hand. You'll be amazed at how quickly it'll feel more normal.

2) Slow down when shooting and focus on the fundamentals. It's gonna be darned tough to get any kind of respectable grouping at first, so just slow down and do your best. Speed up only after the group size decreases and your trigger control gets better.

3) Be patient & don't set your bar too high. When I started shooting 1-handed on my strong side, my groups were at least twice my 2-handed group size. Now, they're about equal.