Straight Wall Case Trim Question

Zen Archery

I’m a novice with straight wall cases and need wisdom from those more experienced. This is for 350 Legend.
A). How much trim (if any) should I allow between case and throat?
My most accurate load has the case hard pressed into throat at 1.705. But that added a lot of pressure. Cycling was also problematic in gas gun. 1.700 was old SAAMI spec. is kissing throat. Accuracy was over 1.25”. 1.695 allows room for stretch but accuracy is between 1.10-1.25.” With cheap Nosler 9mm Bullets.

B). Do you anneal straight wall cases since they don’t have a shoulder?

30-DF63-B8-A6-DC-4-E51-A5-EA-5-C1-C76-C82-F15.png

Interesting. If you look at the current SAAMI drawing, the case is given as 1.710" with a tolerance of -0.010". Trim-to length is always set in the middle of the range, so 1.705" would be normal.

This case, like other rimless straight wall cases, is supposed to headspace on the case mouth, so the chamber minimum length equals the case maximum length. If you have a shorter chamber than that, it could be a problem even with commercial ammunition, in which case a chamber cast might be in order.

But before you go there, you need to keep in mind one other thing about cases that headspace on the case mouth, and that is that you absolutely must not crimp the bullet enough to reduce the case mouth diameter below the minimum given in the drawing. For the 350 Legend, the case mouth outside diameter must be 0.3720"-0.3780" on the finished cartridge right at the case mouth, with 0.3760" being average. If you got high pressure it would only be because the mouth was too narrow and was jamming into the freebore, or else the bullet stuck out so far it jammed past the freebore and into the throat, which will raise pressure about 20%.

So, if you have high pressure signs, something isn't fitting correctly.

Zen Archery