Storing a pistol with the slide back

whitenack

Total newb here with 0 experience, asking a question about proper pistol storage.

I have a one year old that is in to everything. In a few years, he will be playing cops and robbers and cowboys and indians.

Handgun safety is a concern.

I plan to purchase a handgun soon for home defense. I plan for it to be kept in the bedroom at all times (IOW, I will not carry). I don't like the thought of a safe, because it would be difficult to find at night, difficult to work a combination under stress, difficult to operate the key, where do you keep the key during the day, finding the key then getting to the safe takes too much time, etc., etc.

I plan to teach my son proper gun safety when he is old enough and responsible enough. Until then, I plan to hide it.

Even though I plan to hide it, there is always the possibility of him finding it. My thoughts are that I could hide the mag in one place, and the gun in another. Both places would be in easy reach if needed in a hurry, but if my son were to stumble upon the hiding place of one, he would still be safe because he doesn't have both pieces.

To speed up the time it takes to be defensive, I thought it would be smart to leave the pistol with the slide locked back, so that when I grabbed the mag, then got to the pistol, all I would need to do is insert the mag and press the release, as opposed to inserting the mag and racking the slide.

Thoughts? Make any difference in time (racking slide vs. pressing release)?

10s&Xs

I'd invest in a small quick-access safe (lockbox).

You can find a variety of styles with mechanical pushbutton combinations (simplex), or electronic touchpads. It allows you to store your gun safely in the ready-condition of your choice, and provides relatively quick access - faster than retrieving a gun and a magazine in two separate locations.

I don't have kids at home, but it was totally worth the $100 I spent for peace of mind.

shield20