Steel BLR vs Alloy BLR

j.chappell

I am looking for a BLR in 358WIN. I have limited experience with them and was wondering if anyone had experience with both models. I am looking for any comparison you can make between the two.

Thank you.

J.

murphjup

J,

Sorry I cant help you with your comparision, I have a new alloy with pistol grip in .308, that I am very happy with...

The glossy stock is the only downside, it can get scuffed easily... a little too delicate for me for a hunting gun... But it sure is pretty...

attachment.php

I just put 30 rounds through it today at the range, it shoots about 1.5 inch groups, not on a stand or sandbags...

:)

dmazur

No personal experience, though I'm considering a BLR takedown in .243 and have, therefore, done some research.

What I've stumbled across is two things, which I believe to be true -

1. Both the steel and alloy receivers have bolt lock-up in the barrel, so there is no difference in strength. That is, the alloy receivers can handle the same calibers the steel receiver can.

2. The alloy receiver may cause some problems with scope mounting if care is not exercised, as the holes are drilled and tapped into alloy instead of steel.

So, it looks like there really isn't much to worry about with the alloy receiver vs. steel receiver.

j.chappell

murphjup,

Do what I have done to those glossy bastards....take a pice of 0000 steel wool and go over the entire stock with it. This will in no way make it throught he finish and it dulls it to a nice satin look. Take your time and care as you can go through on corners and countours.

Thanks guys as I have wanted a 358 in a BLR, I am having my smith build me one on a M77 action so I am not sure if I'll get the BLR now or not.

J.

murphjup

Thanks J

I may try that after ir gets beat up more, for now, I do like the look, I have learned to touch it up with furniture touch up stain...

Let us know when you get yours and how you like shooting it...

:)

j.chappell