Static + reloading

Lavid2002

Hy there...looking into getting into reloading. Just thinking about static and im seeing tips like "place a dryer cloth on our scale to see the static level" How do I maintain a good static level? How do i prevent it?
How can I keep safe it static sneaks around? Thanks!
Dave : D

Shoney

I've been loading since 1960 and have never had a worry about static. I started with a single stage Pacific press, balance beam scales, a powder trickler, and dies. That’s all!

My equipment is basically the same today as it was then. I have added an electronic scale/dispenser, tumbler, dial calipers, two progressive presses, and a lot of seldom used "stuff" for loading.

Static is only a factor in the plastic tube of a powder dispenser. It is a bother, not a problem or danger. Static on the dispenser or scale is completely dissipated by wiping with a damp cloth, just like misting tap water onto a dress to remove the static cling.

Your greatest danger in reloading is from sever contusions and abrasions to your head, neck and upper body from your spouse! Either you spend more time with it than her, your spending toooooo much on loading supplies, Oh honey will you take me shooting again this weekend instead of going hunting/fishing, you used my blender to grind tumbling media, you used my washer to clean brass, you- - - - -

Lavid2002

Bwahahaha

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! thats great, ill be shure to keep note of that, and while I order my scale ill gte some chest pads or something...maybe a hockey helmet : D

williamd

Hey, the washer sure cleans up the dirty shotshell hulls! I live in a community property state so I can use the washer, too.

Hmmm. Walnut hulls in a blender ... why not. Thanx!

PS: Put the hulls or brass in a laundry bag like the Navy issued to you!

inkie