Springfield 1911 Long Slide?

defjon

o I am thinking of getting a used Long Slide. I know nothing about these. A guy is selling one for 750. It is stainless and has only nominal wear from about 1,200 rounds through it.

Any issues with these models? Anything to look out for when I check it out? Is that a fair price?

I have the opportunity to fire before I buy and it includes extras like cleaning kit, hearing protection (those ear muff kind) etc.

Does it strip down like a normal 1911? I haven't seen one in person yet. I appreciate your help. I'm a long slide newbie.

toyman69

My long slide is one of my favorite guns to shoot. it is extreemly accurate. I bought mine 3 years ago for near that price. and have not regretted buying at all. mine has some custom work done to it, and probably had a lot more rounds through her than yours. as far as take down it is basicly the same. mine has the full length guide rod (kind of a pain). added a pic of my 1911 collection and you will notice that the long slide is the first one there on the top.

Attachments

• IMAG0006.jpg
    IMAG0006.jpg
    68.1 KB · Views: 192
Last edited:

HoraceHogsnort

There's nuth'n magical about a long slide 1911. The barrel, slide, and frame are all an inch longer and you'll probably get a bit more velocity. If I were going to buy one I'd opt for the 10mm or 460 Rowland in a carbon steel frame and slide. That'd make a good hog hunt'n gun and it'd be more than adequate for uninvited guests at 3:00 am but for a carry gun you have to be a big dude to make it work comfortably. ;)

swsurgeon

A friend of mine bought a Springfield longslide as his first handgun, despite advice from every one of his shooting buddies to get a regular or commander size. He's about a 6'2" triathlete so the weight is no big deal. He really likes it and I must admit that it functions flawlessly and shoots great.