Specific, basic question re: 5.56 vs .223

Chris_B

There's a .223 thread here and it never really got down to brass tacks. I was hoping to see a specific answer to something in that thread and I just don't see it.

I will set the stage with an example:

I bought a Colt Sporter Target the other day. I am new to ARs but not to firearms or rifles; I own an M1 rifle and an M1 carbine. I fired my first rifle at nine (1903A3) in 1980, and have fired ARs, .22 bolt guns, Mausers, Moisins, M1As, etc

And one thing I know about firearms is that I never want to 'know enough to be dangerous'. I want to know what I'm doing, period.

So back to the Colt: what I understand is this- the lower receiver has .223 stamped on it. When the rifle was new, it was meant to fire .223 ammunition. However, the barrel reads "5.56 NATO". This means the upper has a barrel on it that is for 5.56

The rule of thumb I have been told is that a 5.56 rifle can fire .223 and 5.56 with no risk. It does not however work the other way around, because of the way the chamber is shaped on the 5.56 rifle

And again, what I am told (and what seems logical from inspecting the upper and lower) is that if your upper is in 5.56, it doesn't matter what the lower reads, the upper receiver/barrel combo is the part that has the chamber and therefore dictates the caliber.

So, in this way, by purchasing different barrels if you have the wrench and a vise and care to do it, or if you purchase another upper/barrel combo, you can easily and rapidly change caliber from say .223 to .458. You use the same lower and the different upper and barrel or barrel. The design of the rifle makes this possible, hence the flexibility and ease of adaptation to various needs, and the popularity of the design to a large degree. Seems all ducky and logical and easy to understand, to me at least