So many r modifying n reloading 4 bolt guns.

What makes a shooter feel complete which load did you say ok this one?
What and why soo many modification stocks receiver barrel trigger mags.
Go back 40-50 years was there this much passion in shooting with limited modifications.
I'm new to shooting bolt guns for fun and looking for opinions that I could benefit from.I have a new REM SPS Varmint 308 W/VX6 to start my new hobby.
I have been to the range enough to know I need to move out past 100 yards.I do go to a range that has 200yrds which my next trip will be too.
Being I'm on medical disability and funds are very limited is it possible to enjoy my factory set up.I do practice technique with my 10/22 and it has helped alot.

Happy Jesus Birthday everyone!

Last edited:

std7mag

Iwana,

Welcome to the forum!!

Your rifle setup should comfortably get you out to 400 yards or so.

The trend now seems to be in the long distance arena. We are talking 1000 yards +. To do that consistently requires a more specialized rifle.

Basic bedding the stock is well within most home gunsmithing ability, along with stock upgrading.

As for reloading, I shoot many different rifles, handguns, with many different weights and styles of bullets. All are meant for different things.

No matter which rifle I'm loading for, I pick a bullet for a certain job (coyote hunting for instance), look at the different powders for that particular bullet weight. I check my firearm for COAL (cartridge over all length).
I then do a ladder test with the powder of choice. (From starting load I go up .3gr of powder to the max powder charge listed in the manual). I look for the 3 shots that are the most consistent vertically. And use the middle loading.

I don't care about max velocity, I'm looking for the most accurate load with that powder/bullet combo out of that particular firearm.

I hope this helped.

Happy Hollidays!!!

Std7mag

HiBC

Folks have all sorts of attitudes about any modification to a gun.