So I want to build a 1911...

bushidomosquito

And I want to do it right. This has been a dream project of mine for many years and I think it's time to get started. I'm no gunsmith but I am a certified machinist with many years of metalworking experiance and my hobbies always center around some sort of metalwork. I like to do the difficult things, which turned me onto working with titanium and damascus about 10 years ago and I have been making custom jewellery from those materials ever since. I've had a thing for Japanese swords all my life, which lead me to making tsuba from any plate of steel I could find. Those have been my main two interests for quite some time but everything I learned was from trial and error because there just isn't much info out there on either subject.

Building a 1911 however, is something I can research the hell out of before even getting started. There is more info out there than I can ever read so I come to the gunsmiths of TFL for advise. I'm looking for something classy, no light rails, doctor sights or lasergrips for me. I've settled on working with steel parts because I plan to have everything hardcoated in black. What I need to know is what's the easiest route with high quality parts? If I stick to one manufacturer, can I expect everything to require less fitting? Are there any kits out there without junk parts?

Hawg

Numrich used to sell kits to build Auto Ordnance 1911's even after they sold out to Kahr. They don't list them now but might still sell you one if you call and ask.

Harry Bonar

Sir:
You certainly sound like a very accomplished individual and welcome to the forum.
I do not think you'll have any trouble. I would buy Ed Brown parts, or one of the better makers; Wilson is good, and if you want to upgrade an existing pistol - well, most of them are now featuring pistols already upgraded - I think you want to "build" one! That stated I'd get Brownells catalog and you'll find eyerything you'll need.
Harry B.

jmorris