So I bought a lower...

Contrast Man

I picked up a blemished lower from PSA as a gift to myself recently (actually still waiting for it to ship on over). I like the idea of building my own AR from a mechanical standpoint, I also like to tinker.

Anyways, my goal for this build is for it to be a "working" rifle. Range use, home defense, no serious competition. I'd like for it to be fairly lightweight, 16" total length barrel, and I do plan on using iron sights on it, most likely fixed. This is my first build, and first AR, but I'd like your opinion on what might fit my requirements on a lower to reasonable budget. I'd like to be around $700-800 for a complete working rifle, but if it can be done for less, even better.

I don't have a whole lot of preference brand wise as I'm not too familiar with the seemingly millions of companies putting out AR parts. The one thing I have heard a few good things about is this lower parts kit from TR-Enabling, but again, I'm not stuck on it. Link below:

http://www.tr-enabling.com/ar-15-lower-parts-kit-p/0001lpk.htm?1=1&CartID=0

Thanks again for your help and advice! I'll be sure to post pictures here regularly as the build progresses, however long that may take.

qqq1

Just keep watching PSA deals and you'll get everything you need. It will take 3 weeks after you order it but they put everything on sale all the time. I've built 2 full rifles with pretty much every part coming from them. I hated that grip included in the kit you linked to. The nub bugged me like crazy.

jimbob86

I'd like for it to be fairly lightweight, 16" total length barrel, and I do plan on using iron sights on it, most likely fixed.