slight issue with 45 auto load,Help.

iblong

Mornning,
Ive been loading for just a couple years now,mostly rifle and revolvers.
I started loading a couple months ago for my 1911 45 using wLP and unique powder.Im trying to work up a load to start shooting in IDPA.Ive found a couple of accurate loads but am having an issue that needs correcting.I get about 2 failures to go into battery out of about each hundred rounds I fire.
Im loading 5.5-5.8grs. unique,230 gr.LRN seated at 1.260 taper crimped to
.469(LFC die) seated with seperate die.The LFC does touch going in and comming out.My speer manual recomends not seating less than 1.270 and My Hornady says to seat deeper than the 1.260 Im at.My feed ramp is highly polished and I have o problems with extraction/ejection.Oh I am ussing mixed range brass.The 1911 is new with 18 lb spring. Ive put about 1000 rnds.Through it so far,Im in need of a little directtion here.Should I not use the LFC.,seat longer.ect.Any help would be wellcome.
Thanks,Bob.

Last edited:

dahermit

... Oh I am ussing mixed range brass....
GIGO. Garbage in, garbage out. Hand loading is all about carefully producing the best product that you can. At least sort your cases by head stamp.

ir3e971

Possibly Seating Depth.

I get about 2 failures to go into battery out of about each hundred rounds I fire.
Im loading 5.5-5.8grs. unique,230 gr.LRN seated at 1.260 taper crimped to
.469(LFC die) seated with seperate die.

For the LRN I have been shooting in my Springfield 45, I have been seating at 1.240.

For plated bullets and FMJ I have used the 1.260 as you cited, however the LRN I purchased were less tapered. To address this I had to seat a little bit deeper, or else the assembled cartridge didn't seat well in my barrel.

Look at the picture Unclenick posts halfway down this thread. At 1.260 my cartridge looked like the example on the right. Take a look at yours using this picture.