Single Action Newb

Driveout02

Hey all,
I'm really a complete single action newbie. I know next to nothing about these guns (at least in terms of brands, what's desirable, etc.-I suppose I do have a basic understanding of how they operate).
Anyway, I've recently been getting into the old spaghetti western films, and picked up a Vaquero at the store for S&G.. and instantly fell in love.
Now what I need to know is what caliber should I be looking for (what are the general applications/price of each?), should I be looking at a different brand instead of Ruger, what's the most user-friendly barrel lengths, etc. I suppose I'm wondering if someone could sum up these single action pistols in a paragraph or two. I apologize in advance for the abhorrent lack of knowledge on my end, but seriously, this a brand new corner of firearms for me. Thanks!!

MrBorland

John Taffin's book (CraigC's link) is a great reference. I recently got a copy, and it's well-read already.

As to your original question, I'll offer what I can in a nutshell, but have to reply with a few questions of my own: