Sig P229 problem and range report

Silvanus

I took my new Sig P229 (9mm, DA/SA) to the range today. After loading up 2 magazines to full capacity (13 rounds) I started shooting at 15 meters. After about 6 or 7 rounds I checked the target and was happy to see all the shots in a tight group right in the center of the target :) The trigger and accuracy of this pistol are amazing. I've never shot a gun before where the sights were zeroed perfectly right out of the box for me.

I continued shooting when I noticed a too light primer strike. I've shot this ammo in my other pistols (Glock & BHP) and it always worked so far (Magtech, Hirtenberger & Geco). It happened several times with all brands and the rounds all went off on the second strike.

Another problem I noticed was that the slide didn't always lock back after firing the last round. And I know that I didn't put my thumb on the slide lock while firing the pistol. I sometimes did this with my Sig Mosquito, so I know I have to use a different grip than the one I'm used to (and I did).

Now I'm a little disappointed, because I expect a Sig to work flawlessly right out of the box. And apart from the malfunctions I really like this gun a lot.

Do you have any ideas/suggestions, what could be the cause of the problems I'm having with this pistols and how I could fix them? Or should I go back to my dealer and have him send the pistol to Sig Sauer to fix it?

Here's a photograph of the primer. Is this normal for a Sig? Shouldn't the firing pin hit the center of the primber?

Last edited:

guypowell

If this is a new pistol give it several hundred rounds for things to loosen up before you get dismayed. Especially with the slide failing to lock back, tight springs coupled with low powered ammo could very well be the culprit. Also, SIGs need to be well lubed to function properly.
When my P229 was new it had the same failure to lock back for the first 2-300 rounds. After that the problem vanished, never to return.