Sig 238 reliable?

Mr Lucky

I am interested in knowing from those who own one, what the general consensus is on the Sig 238 .380 reliability. I'd like to know if anyone has needed to return a 238 to Sig for repairs. Has anyone had any problems related to FTF, clocking, ejector or other. Have you been mostly satisfied or mostly dissatisfied? would you recommend this pistol to a friend?

Don H

Welcome to TFL!

While you are waiting for responses to your post, a forum search using the term "SIG 238" may answer some of your questions or bring other questions to mind.

Mr Lucky

Don,

Thanks. I'm on a couple other gun forums. I'm just learning the ropes here. I know there are are several Sig 238 threads here when I do a search. I don't want to beat a dead horse.

Jimmy10mm

Lucky you asked ....:) most threads I've read are complaining about unreliable P238s. I took a chance in spite of that and bought one. Mine runs like a Swiss watch. Great little pistol IME. Saying that with about 400 rounds without a glitch. Time will tell.

Mr Lucky

Jimmy,
There are many fine pistols out there. I am partial to Sig. The 238 is not a Colt Mustang and Mustangs are not being made anymore. I know there are some issues with the 238. I also know Sig is aware and doing a good job of CS. I'm happy that yours is working fine with no big issues. It is a great little pistol. :cool:

AK103K

Mine wasnt at all reliable. It was accurate, and an easy shooter compared to other .380's I own, but the reliability thing did it in for me.

I considered sending it back, but after hearing all the reports of guns going back multiple times, with no joy, I figured I'd just cut my losses and get rid of it. The gun was expensive enough, I wasnt in the mood to waste any more time and money doing R&D for SIG. I did take a bit of a beating, but the Glock 26 that replaced it, is better for my blood pressure.