Should a Small Base Die be able to set the shoulder back too far?

sirgilligan

FYI: Everything is RCBS. Rock Chucker Supreme kit, RCBS shell older, RCBS .223 REM small base die set.

Is my resizing die or shell holder out of spec? Here is why I ask.

I put the shell holder in, run the ram to the top. Screw in the resizing die until it touched and then tightened it 1/8th to 1/4th of a turn more according to the directions.

I resized some once fired brass and checked them in a Dillon .223 REM Go/No Go gauge and the gauge shows the case to be out of spec. The head of the case is below the valley in the gauge.

My question again is this, is the resizing die out of spec? Maybe the shell holder?

I have been told that it is impossible to get the shoulder set back too far.

I have reset the sizing die by only turning it 1/16th of a turn and the resized brass is correct, just below the high on the gauge and well above the low of the gauge.

I am new to this, but I think it is because I screwed it down too far. But if shoulder set back is not a function of how far you screw the die into the press then what is happening?

Again, it is a small base die, I am running the case up until the press cams over.

PA-Joe

Yes, this can happen. 1/16th turn out is good. Some rifles have very short chambers so the dies are made to fit the minimum length.

4runnerman

Don't use the gauge to determine your shoulder set back. Use your chamber to tell you how far back to set it. Your not making factory ammo,you are making ammo to fit your chamber.

sirgilligan

Thanks. That's all I needed to hear.

In a way I am reloading for factory ammo. I have three completely different rifles and this batch of ammo is for the "general" use bucket. One an FN, another a Ruger, and the last a CZ. Two are semi auto, one a bolt action.

I will eventually get me a neck sizing die for the bolt action.

Thanks again.

Last edited:

Bart B.