Shot my new 629 today

TurkeySlayer

I hit the range early this morning with my new 629 Mountain Gun.

I was using Winchester 240 gr factory 44 Mag and 200 gr 3D brand 44 Specials.

The anticipated recoil was anticlimactic. It was more than I'm used to, but comfortable. I'm sure there are plenty of stouter loads out there.

The 44 Specials were fun to shoot and let me get used to the balance of the gun.

The trigger is good but not yet great. My past experience with S&W leads me to believe it will get better.

All in all, I'm happy with my purchase. I like it quite a bit. I already have a longing for a Super Redhawk. :)

Herb Leventhal

44 mag

There "ain't nothing" like firing a 44 mag S&W 629 on the outdoor range. I have been shooting fullhouse handloads factory equiv for the past 10 years. Its almost as good as you know what! I shoot the 6.5 inch 629 classic DX. Magnificent. I own the mountain gun but stiff recoil with my handloads. If you like the Smith trigger you will not like the Ruger. I owned the Ruger Redhawk and Super Redhawk, sold them both. Lousy trigger!! Ruger needs do do something with their trigger. Enjoy your new toy.
Herb

notbubba

One thing I've found about shooting a .44 mag is that I have much less flinch the next time I shoot my 9mm.:D

At least for awhile.;)

P.S. this is a wonderfull time of the year to have a cold.

Ala Dan

Member in memoriam
I shoot a Smith & Wesson 629-5 "Classic" with a 5" barrel;
when it roar's down range, everyone just stops and look's
due to the brillant muzzle blast and recoil.:rolleyes: :D

Seasons Greeting's,
Ala Dan, Life Member N.R.A.

Bob C

With the few examples in my experience,out of the box Redhawk or Super Redhawk triggers are not great, to be kind. Too heavy, and also some creep. Out of the box S&W triggers usually are OK after a minimal break-in.

Trigger jobs on the Rugers, however, are usually very successful.

I own, and like, both maker's products.

Herb Leventhal

44 mag

Ala Dan: