Shooting too high?

Deja vu

So it has been a long time sense I went out plinking with hand guns.

While I have never been great with hand guns I was always able to hit targets like pop cans and such at 10-50 yards with out a problem.

Well its been about 2 years and I went out shooting with my oldest boy and did I feel dumb, I seem to be shooting way high with all my pistols, so I am sure its me not the pistols. :eek:

I am pretty accurate left to right but I am constantly shooting about 3 foot high at 25 yards, Does any one have some advise?

Toney D

I started shooting high to. I think its my eyes, do'nt think i can see the pin in the gap anymore. The darker it is the higher i'm shooting

blazeops

I would say improper sight alignment or recoil anticipation without observing you.

Since it has been awhile since you have fired a handgun, I would do some dry firing before firing any rounds. If you have any dummy rounds or snap caps, mix them in your magazine's while shooting at 25 yards to see if your front sight is moving before the break.

stevieboy

I don't have the best vision in the world and no amount of correction gives me a perfectly clear picture of the front sight. I tend at times to shoot a bit high (more like 3" at 25 yards as opposed to 3') because I tend to tip the front sight up just a tiny bit above the plane made by the rear sight blades. That's because, subconsciously, I'm "searching" for the front sight when I aim and I can see the little bump caused by the front sight being above the plane of the rear sight blades. I'm ok, however, if I keep reminding myself not to do that.

zippy13

Straight up (or down) misses may be do to breaking your wrist at the last instant. You could try blazeops' suggestion about dry firing and put some more effort into your follow through.

TylerD45ACP