Shooting: standing, unsupported

SavageMOA

I recently posted some of my groups that I shot with my rifle. I shot these from a bench using sandbags which let me know what my rifle was capable of. Now I want to find out what I am capable of.

What is the best way to shoot "offhand" at targets 100+ yards?

csmsss

Just curious - in what actual shooting scenario do you anticipate standing erect, firing an unsupported rifle freehand?

BeCoole

Use an NRA SR target and shoot offhand at 200 yds. Record your scores for 10 and 20 shot strings.

When you can shoot in the 180s you'll be getting pretty good.

SavageMOA

The only scenario would be target shooting. What is the proper stance for offhand shooting in order to get the most stable platform?

kraigwy

Shooting Offhand:

First off, Pardon the spelling, I had a secretary when I did this for a living.

First one must be comfortable, when coaching rifle shooters I'm always asked, "How far apart should my feet be". I ignor the quetion for a few minutes and have the shooter stand, and stretch. Then while they are standing I stop what ever lecture I'm doing, and tell them to look at their feet. (all are differant distances apart). Then I tell them that is excactly how far apart their feet should be.

Next: Bring the rifle to your shoulder, Depending on the rifle, the non shooting hand should be either under the mag. as in ARs and M14s, using the mag as a Palm Rest. If using a Garand or simular rifle, then the hand should be just a head of the trigger guard, under where the mag would stick out if there was one.

Bring the rifle to your shoulder, Move it up so you can see the sights while the head is straight and errect. The head shouldnt be tilted at all. If you have to push the butt higher up on the shoulder, so be it. Its got to be done.