Seven vs. 700 Mountain/ 260 vs 7mm08

Smith66

Fellow Rifle Shooters,
I am so terribly conflicted. I've been a loyal (almost exclusive) Winchester 70 30-06 guy since I turned 15. I know that I would never really need a different setup for whitetails/mulies/pronghorn, but I grown weary of carrying a rifle that scales at 9.6 lbs (w/o a bipod!) So a lighter rifle is in order. I can't afford a custom rifle right now, or a Kimber 84M/L for that matter. Or a Remington 700 Ti. I believe I've narrowed down my choices for a new rifle to Remington 700 Mountain and Remington Seven. I also want to go to a short action chambering. I've narrowed the choices there to either 260 or 7mm-08. Although I am new to handloading, I'm determined to use that to my advantage.
So I've ended up at these four choices....and I am at a complete inpass. I have no firsthand experience with either of these rifles or calibers, and even though I've done plenty of research on the subjects, I don't know which way to go. Can anyone help me?? Please, anyone with firsthand experience with these rifles/calibers let me know what your opinions are!!
Thanks for your help!
Smith66

warbirdlover

If you're hunting whitetails I'd go with the 7. If you're going to shoot longer range I'd go with the 700 (longer barrel). Both should be good shooters based on the 700 I just bought.

.260 Rem if you reload. I reloaded for the 7mm=08 and couldn't (safely) get anymore out of it then factory loads. I could get it to group better is about all.

20thru45

Personally, I'd go .308; not what you asked for but very close to the 06 you've always loved.

Advantages include cheaper, better selection of ammo vs 7.08 and .260. Flat enough trajectory for hunting and bigger bullets can be used in the 3.08. Switch to Barnes ttsx 130 or 150 grain and you've got your old 06 leaner and very hard hitting.

jmr40