seating and removing case bell.

maillemaker

Hi all.

I'm new to reloading. I'm setting up a Lee 1000 set up for 45 ACP that I got for Christmas 10 years ago and just took out of the box yesterday.

It has 3 stations stations. As I understand it:

Station 1 knocks out the primer and sizes the cartridge

Station 2 bells the mouth of the cartridge, seats the primer, and drops powder

Station 3 seats the bullet and removes the case bell simultaneously.

I was reading this tutorial here:

http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=407195

And it says not to seat the bullet and remove the case bell simultaneously. But several posters said they do it that way, and I think this Lee 1000 does it that way.

What's the story?

Steve

PA-Joe

Some seating dies will do the final crimp at the same time. Do you have a three dies set or the 4 dies set with the factory crimp?

demigod

I like the taper crimp die as the last step in my 45acp load. I read too many issues with the seating and crimp die combo.

alfack

I agree with having a separate taper crimp die. Also, hopefully in step 2, the primer is seated before the powder is dropped :) I haven't used a Lee setup, but most of the rigs I have seen seat the primer in station 1.

maillemaker

Some seating dies will do the final crimp at the same time. Do you have a three dies set or the 4 dies set with the factory crimp?

The Lee Pro 1000 has 3 stations and 3 dies.

Also, hopefully in step 2, the primer is seated before the powder is dropped I haven't used a Lee setup, but most of the rigs I have seen seat the primer in station 1.

In the Lee Pro 1000, station one knocks out the primer and sizes the shell.

Station two seats the primer on the down stroke, and bells the case mouth and drops powder on the up stroke.

Station three you set a bullet in place on the down stroke, and it is seated and crimped on the up stroke.

Steve

PA-Joe