Scope Recommendation for Muzzleloader ?

Guyon

I would post this over in Blackpowder, but there seems to be a few folks over there who think that muzzleloading is only for folks who shoot iron sights on a flintlock. So I'm posting here instead...

I'm new to muzzleloaders and just bought my first one. I'm putting a scope on a CVA Magbolt 150/26, and I'm leaning toward a fixed 4 power. Is this the right way to go? Suggestions?

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam
Well, a fixed 4X will deal with most any hunting need I can think of, this side of 400+ yards on prairie dogs. A viable alternative would be something on the order of a 1.5x5 variable. If you're really in close, even 4X is a bit much.

Art

Guyon

Thanks Art. Actually, a large majority of the shots here in TN are 50 yards and in. I'll look into the low-powered variables.

The only 4x scopes I have are on .22 rifles, and I don't really hunt with them. I might take one out in the woods next time I go, and just see what the sight picture is like in the field.

Mainly, I just was wondering if there was a "standard" sort of scope for folks who use them on muzzleloaders--sort of the way a 3-9x40 is such a popular choice on centerfires.

Redneck2

Trust me on this...

I had a cheap scope on my muzzleloader. Cost me a 14 point 27 1/2 inch inside spread buck.

I NOW (unfortunately too late) have a Leupold 2x7 on it. The cheap scope fogged up. Since you're in Tennessee I assume you may hunt in rain, fog, etc. My scope fogged solid. Also, the zero would wander.

Sometimes you'll get lucky and a cheap scope is good. Good scopes are almost always good.

If it doesn't say "Waterproof" it isn't.

The 2x7 seems perfect. Great field of view at low settings and enough power for 200 yard shots. You never know what you'll need 'til you need it.

I'd rather have a $150 rifle and $300 scope than the other way around.