Science

Khornet

Please indulge me, fellow TFLers. It seems to come up again and again that strong claims are made on the basis of 'scientific proof' of one thing or another. I feel compelled to point out that most people just don't understand how research works. I'm no scientist (and I don't play one on TV either), but every day on the job I'm required to use the results of other people's science, and I have to decide whether what they claim is beleivable.

Turns out that a lot of what we 'know' just ain't so. Case in point: the notorious Kellerman study showning how we're a billion times more likely to be massacred with our own gun than to be defended by it. By now most people here understand the methodologic flaw in that study: the counting of only killings or shootings, disregarding the much more common scenario of assailants being frightened off by the sight of the intended victim's gun.

Apply that lesson to most of the science you hear reported. If possible, try to find out the method of the study. If you see bad methods, ask yourself why. Why would a university prof not think of the existence of non-lethal deterrence with a gun? Because of the bias inherent in the prof's approach to the issue.

BIAS is the bugbear of research. It can creep in at the very beginning of a study, in the nature of the question it seeks to answer, as in studies designed to assess the effects of global warming on frogs. Such a study assumes that GW exists, which is a big assumption indeed.

Bias can arise from selection of the test subjects. That's what I meant when I said EMS Guy suffered from selection bias: the population from which he derived his conclusion is made up of the people calling 911. That's not a representative sample of much of anything, and it can lead you to overstimate the prevalence of disease.