School Me On The Smith & Wesson 1917

Joe_Pike

I have no experience with these other than seeing a picture here and there as they just don't turn up where I live.

A guy at work bought one this weekend (or what I believe to be one) at an auction and was trying to make sure that it is what I think it is. He thinks it was originally chambered in .455 Webley because on the barrel you can see ".45" but nothing after it except a lot of wear. He has an idea that someone may have removed the "5 Webley" after the ".45". I'm not so sure. A .45 Colt cartridge seems to chamber just fine. The .45 acp slips on through without moon clips, which there were none with the gun. My question is whether there were .45 Colt versions of this and should there be a rim for the .45 acp to rest on or is it totally dependent on moon clips. Serial number is 49xxx.

James K

Member In Memoriam
A military contract S&W Model 1917 (as originally made) will have plain wood stocks, without checkering. The left side of the barrel will be marked "S.&W. D.A. 45". The bottom of the barrel ahead of the bottom lug will be marked "UNITED STATES PROPERTY". The marking "U.S. ARMY/MODEL 1917/No. xxxxx" (where xxxxx is the serial number) will appear on the bottom of the grip. The serial will also appear on the barrel under the ejector rod and on the back of the cylinder. Unless the gun was later re-finished, it will be blued, not Parkerized.

The gap between the cylinder and the breech will be about .011", enough for a .45 ACP rim and the half-moon clip. There will be shoulders in the chambers; a .45 Colt will not fully enter the chamber and would have excess headspace if it did. A .455 will enter the chamber, but if it fires will also have excess headspace.

HTH

Jim

James K

Member In Memoriam