Savage Model 99 - lead bullets?

Ronbert

Question for the collective- Does it make sense to you that someone fired some unjacketed bullets thru a Savage Model 99 in 300 Savage sometime in the past? (and leaded the barrel)

Background- I'm cleaning my grandfather's Savage. By s/n the gun is 1951. He bought it in 1958 from an individual (I have the receipt). He hunted some I guess but not so much that I ever knew of him as anything but an occasional meat hunter. I have 3 boxes of his original ammo, each are about half used so I don't think he shot it much. (When I was a "big boy" of about 11 I was allowed one shot thru that rifle in the late '60's)

5 courses of Gunslick foaming bore cleaner removed a lot of copper. (Boy what a great product!)

Inspecting the muzzle end shows light colored frosty deposits. I'm not sure whether it's lead I'm seeing or corrosion damage. (I have little experience in this regard)

So I used some Remington Bore cleaner (scrubbing abrasive) on a short rod on the deposits at the bore. (patch wrapped brush wetted with cleaner) I do this at the muzzle so I can see the effects. The muzzle appearance hasn't changed much but the patches are very, very black. A half-dozen patches continue to be black rather quickly.

So, thinking about it some more, I dig out the lead remover cloth. After dry patching the bore where I've been working, I cut a patch of lead cloth to fit around a jag and with a single in-out stroke of the bore the patch comes back as black as if I'd dipped it in carbon. A half-dozen of these patches continue to come out black.

Am I on the right track here? This is turning into a lot of work!

Thanks for your help!

Yes.

Although not as common as it once was, many shooters used to use lead bullets and light charges of flake pistol powders like Unique or Red Dot to make reduced power loads for .300 Savage, .30-06, .308, .30-30, etc.