Savage 110E 270Win ReBarrel options.

PunchinPaper

I have a Savage 110E 270Win that I am thinking about rebarreling in a different caliber. Does anyone know what my caliber options are with out having to switch the bolt face? I know I can rebarrel to: 270win,25-06,30-06, I am just wondering if there is any other options. I am new to the savage barrel swap world any info will help. Thanks

Scorch

I know I can rebarrel to: 270win,25-06,30-06,
. . . 22-250, 220 Swift, 22 Newton, 6mm Rem, 243, 250-3000, 256 Newton, 6.5-284, 280, 284, 7-08, 7X57, 300 Savage, 308, 8X57, 338 Federal, 338-06, 358 Win, 35 Whelen, 9X57, 9.3X62, and a virtually unlimited number of wildcats. How about 6mm-06? 375 Whelen? 8mm-06? 30 Gibbs? This list could go on a long ways . . .

quepasakimosabe

I do not know how much money or quality/brand you want but to make things easy E.R. Shaw sells kits what come with a barrel, gages, lube/grease, and a wrench for around 200 from midway. I am a huge fan of one stop shopping/simple. Now all you have to do is find a friend with a Vise and scrap 2x4 for a barrel block!

Wyosmith

Yes, anything based on the 30-06 case is a "drop in" installation.
However, I would ask what you will use the rifle for? Is there a reason to change from the 270?
If the recoil of a 270 is a bit much then going to a 25-06 is 'better"
If you are hunting black timber for elk, or if you hunt where there are a lot of grizzlies a 338-06 or 35 Whelen would be "better".
If you can only have one gun, and you don’t handload load ammo and never will, the 30-06 is the best all around shell you can have.
However in my opinion, for most deer and elk hunting the 270 is still on top.

Wyosmith

No mapsjanhere, it's the 30-06 on the Savage ---- because of the fact the shells must also feed from the magazine box. The 57MM shell has the same head, and it was earlier (which is true) but the Savage box is longer and the taper is a bit different.