S&W Body Guard .380

rodfac

Does anybody have experienece with S&W's Body Guard .380. My #2 son bought one Saturday for his wife's purse gun. We tried it out on our farm range this morning and I was surprised at the accuracy. Fifty cent sized groups, slow fire, from 8 yds. We shot Remington 95 gr Green/White box FMJ's and a single magazine of Hornady's Critical Defense...the one with the truncated cone JHP, with the HP filled with red plastic.

We only got three, 6-round magazines through it, had no FTF nor FTE and the slide locked back after the last round. It's very controllable, but then son and I have a lot of experience with a broad variety of hand guns. I especially liked the size; it fits in your back rear jeans pocket like a wallet...or your breast pocket...and it's very light.

I've never seen one before, wasn't interested in one for personal use but this one seems like a good pistol. I do have vague memories of some early on issues with the gun.

What say you all....My usual carry piece is a J-frame Smith that's almost double the weight of this little body guard. I know it's a .380, with all that that small caliber entails, so I'm more interested in malfunction problems, and long term usability...

Thanks in advance, Rod

SIMP

I had one at one point but it has since been sold. I tried one to replace my LCP but ended up going back to my LCP. I never really cared for the laser as it seemed a tad too clumsy to cycle on/off. The trigger was not all that great but it's a short range defensive pistol and it serves that role well. It seemed like a well built little gun but the new LCP trigger won me over. If not for my LCP, I'd probably still have my BG380.

Early issues seemed to involve the takedown pin breaking and the internal laser screw backing out.....if I remeber correctly. Good luck with whatever you decide.

rodfac