S&W 66 cylinder stop binding/dragging

I have a S&W 66 Combat Magnum 4 in. that has somewhere close to 300 rds. fired through it and here is my dillemma . I recently had a lighter hammer and return spring installed and since then have been getting the shiney ring on the cylinder from the cylinder stop lug . Worse than that if you try to gently squeeze off some rounds in double action the cylinder will frequently lock up against the stop lug . One fella I talked to said you can cure this by taking out the hammer stop . I know just enough about revolvers to keep the barrel pointed away from myself . Any insight from those of you who are savvy revolver gurus would be greatly appreciated.

Tom2

Who did the work on the revolver? Sounds like perhaps it was bungled. Take it back to the gunsmith that did it. It was a gunsmith wasn't it? Do not accept anything except completely correct function after a gun repair. Whoever is advising you is having some fun at your expense, it sounds like. If you started with a gun that worked perfectly, you better demand it stay that way. I have replaced some springs in revolvers and it did not result in anything like that. IF the springs are too light you will either experience weak trigger return or misfires from weak mainspring. Something else was done.

James K

Member In Memoriam
I know a bit about S&W actions, and I can't really imagine the situation you are talking about, or how lighter hammer and rebound springs can affect the cylinder stop (unless the trigger is not engaging the stop). It sounds like the "gunsmith" got something together wrong, or messed around with something else. Definitely take it back and insist it be fixed immediately. No correction work should wait its turn.

Jim

Dfariswheel

For one thing ALL S&W revolvers get the shiny ring from the cylinder locking bolt.
The S&W is designed to allow the locking bolt to ride on the cylinder and that very quickly wears a ring on the cylinder.