S&W 29-8 Mountain Gun in 44 MAG

j.chappell

I am fairly new to handguns. I have had a few for years but my knowledge is in long guns. I do not have a 44 of any kind and I came across an S&W 29-8 Mountain Gun in 44 MAG this evening. The gun appears to be in excellent condition with no real sign of use. I am thinking about getting it but do not know enough about values or usefulness to know if it is worth the asking price.

So could any of you out there tell me what a good price would be for the mentioned revolver in I'd honestly say 95%+ condition? Also if any of you have experience with this revolver as far as functioning and accuracy please tell me about it.

Any information would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

J.

B.N.Real

Everything I ever read has been positive.

I saw two in a gun case in Newingtion Va. for $550 each in stainless in almost new shape not two months ago.

If I had the money I'd have bought one of them.

Big revovlers that have a wide range of ammo and uses availible .

Pappy John

I bought mine when they first came out.....2002-2003? I can't remember exactly. I do remember paying right around $600 for it brand new. It was the first blued Mountain Gun I ever came across, and that's what attracted me to it. I must have 2000 rounds plus through it by now with zero malfunctions, mostly my own mild loads of a 240 gr bullet in front of 8.0 gr of Universal Clays giving 990 fps. Full house loads aren't that pleasant from a 4" pencil barreled gun. Just a few can make you think your hand HAS to be bleeding by now. It shoots as accurately as I can point it, and it's a great woods carry gun. I wasn't all that fond of the original Ahends grips, so I put on these Eagle Heritage stocks that duplicate the S&W '50s style Coke Bottle grips.
N-Frames.jpg

j.chappell

Thanks guys thats the kind of information that I was looking for. The one I'm looking at is only $439.00, I guess I should go grab it huh!

Pappy,

What are you using for field carry?