S&W 1911

vikingextreme93

I am looking at a 1911 and waivering between a Springfield loaded and a S&W 1911, is the S&W a better firearm? I cant remember where I read it but I recall seeing a comment that S&W is not a true 1911...I am a 1911 novice so looking for some insight. Really I just want something relatively basic in Stainless with a beavertail that will be utterly reliable for under $900.

lechiffre

i have had good luck with my SW1911

the S&W has a swartz firing pin safety and an external extractor.

the springfield has a glued in ejector and a different size firing pin.

neither one is "a true 1911"

KyJim

I recall seeing a comment that S&W is not a true 1911
They use both an external extractor and a Swartz safety system. Some shooters, especially purists, do not like these. SW seems to have done a good job with the external extractor. As far as the Swartz safety system is concerned, my preference would be no (Kimber uses it as well). Here's some info quoting Hilton Yam on this and other 1911 issues. Hilton Yam is someone that people seriously listen to.

http://shadowspear.com/vb/showthread.php?22218-Definitive-users-guide-1911-by-Hilton-Yam&p=328268

The SW 1911s do seem to have a good reputation and excellent customer service.

44 AMP

Staff
My son has one of the S&W 1911s

A S&W 1911 PD (IIRC), he left it with me during his last deployment, with instructions to put some rounds through it. I put a couple hundred through it, bringing the total up to around 500 or so for the gun. It fuctioned flawlessly, and would shoot 2.5" groups @25yds (with Blazers!). Gun was new, and therefore tight, but it worked fine.