S&W 18-2, date of mfg, other questions

EastSideRich

I just received an 18-2 from a quasi-relative. I was hoping someone would be able to tell me how to find the year of manufacture and approximate value. I know these questions irritate a lot of people, because it suggests laziness and lack of research, but I have looked on quite a few auction sites, and gun dealer sites as well as searching through the guns for sale here and cannot find any 18-2s (have found a couple of 18-3s). I don't have access to a blue book and I'm out of ideas. If anyone has access to this information that would like to help, the sn is K759***. I also don't want an appraisal, just a sort of ball park range for one in pretty good shape.

Also, I am completely new to revolvers, so I was hoping for some tips or advice on cleaning and maintenance, as well as any tips on removing a couple small rust spots on the cylinder. I think I have seen it suggested to use fine steel wool, but I'm worried it will take off the bluing.

The other question I had is is there a way to take the cylinder off? I feel I could give it a more thorough cleaning without this in the way.

Last edited:

Cowart

is there a way to take the cylinder off?
Yes, remove the front-most small screw located on the right hand side of the frame. Don't do this unless you have a proper sized hollow-ground gun screwdriver. A generic Walmart 69¢ screwdriver is not suitable for this purpose.

JoeHatley

Per SCSW, 1967 K715997 --> K779162

$200 --> $400 depending on condition. "Pretty good shape, with some rust", I'd guestimate $300.

Joe

dispatcher

dbl bbl daryl

I believe you have a highly desirable Smith. An 18-2 was an early sixties production revlover. As I understand it was used as a police training revolver for the the duty piece- the Model 15 .38 Combat Masterpiece. I have an 18-4, pinned and recessed. It's a great shooter and a keeper.

22-rimfire