Ruger SR22 Barrel Problems: Chipping?

1911Alaska

Ok just got this gun a couple weeks ago for my girlfriends first gun. So far so good no issues or anything. But today it looks as if the front of the barrel it chipping or something?

I looked at it, decided to put some rounds through it and it worked fine but idk why it would do what it is doing.

Anyone have any experience with Ruger customer service? Think they might replace it?

Attachments

• IMG_1815.jpg
    IMG_1815.jpg
    145.4 KB · Views: 245
  • IMG_3322.jpg
    IMG_3322.jpg
    159.6 KB · Views: 211
  • IMG_6848.jpg
    IMG_6848.jpg
    160.5 KB · Views: 216

mete

How about accuracy ?? It looks like the chamfering tool was chattering and giving a poor finish .That kind of thing wiuld normally produce an inaccurate barrel. A gunsmith could rechamfer the barrel or you could return it to Ruger.

Spats McGee

Administrator
I have zero experience with Ruger CS, but I would not hesitate to give them a call. For that matter, I would give the manufacturer a call immediately, regardless of who it was. I'm not a gunsmith by any means, but that looks like something that needs to be fixed sooner rather than later.

Eghad

I would give Ruger a call. The last and first time I had a problem with my Ruger I e-mailed them and with 24 hours had a prepaid shipping label to send my pistol back. It was back within about three weeks including the shipping time. I would e-mail them the photos.

rgrundy

I've shot Thunderbolts through my SIG and had severe barrel leading. Are the chips by any chance lead that was deposited in the barrel then chipped or peeled off?

buckeyedave

Ruger CS is great. Call them early as calls back up as the day goes on. They will fix it or replace it. They will email a return label.
Dave

dyl

Leading.