Ruger No. 1 30-06

ligonierbill

Still have the itch for a No. 1, and I have questions about the 2 varieties I see out there. (I'm no expert.) Older models have no sights, 26" barrel, sling swivel on the forearm and often very pretty wood. Newer models, sights, 22", swivel on the barrel and usually fairly plain wood.

I like good wood, but I'm more shooter than collector. So, is there any significant benefit to that long barrel? I mostly load IMR-4350 in '06, so I would expect a real velocity boost, but I'm not a 500 yd + guy. Does either have a noticeable advantage in balance and handling, in your view?

Just looking, I tend toward the old long barrel. Seems like it just takes advantage of the short receiver, and I don't see a downside. On the other hand, the 22" looks like a carbine without the terribly short barrel (I don't like the RSI version). Thoughts? Experience?

Rifletom

Saw this question and looked around a bit. I have an Ruger No.1B Std. in 30-06. It has the 26" barrel, no iron sights and has the quarter rib. I couldn't find my rifle on two different sights[Ruger's and Bud's!]. If you can find one with the 26" barrel, I'd opt for that one. They balance quite well, but, in the same breath, they are heavy. 8lb bare bones, 9+ with scope and sling. Mine is very accurate using the 180gr Hornady Interlock and a hefty charge of H-4350. I'm getting 2750fps MV over the screens with that rifle and load. No pressure signs at all. The deer and Elk I've taken with that No. 1 didn't like it tho. Hope you find one. If I find one, I'll post it up.

oldscot3

Go to classicsportingarms.com for a look at his inventory. The prices aren't wholesale for sure, but the choices are good, new and used available, seems fair to me.

eastbank

I have a early # 1 red pad with 26" barrel in 300 WM and load down a 165gr nosler bullet to 2800 fps. kills deer dead,

ligonierbill