Ruger MKIII, indicator question !!!

Pahoo

Not a serious problem but have noticed that the plastic and metal insert on the loaded chamber indicator seams to trap more dirt than the MKII. Makes the cleaning of this area just a little harder. Have any of you folks noticed this and how do you address it or just ignore it. Thinking about removing it but that would leave a slot on the side. What do Y'all think??

Be Safe !!!

Nexus_MkVII

i really want to remove the metal part of the loaded chamber indicator. i have no idea how to do it but ive seen some people mention that its possible. its held in by a pin. the pin is flush with the receiver, and there is no obvious access to the back end of the pin. it seems nearly impossible to imagine pulling out this pin, since there is no way to grip the head and no way to push the bottom. im a newb. can someone help? at this point, im thinking that i will have to leave the indicator's assembly in place and carefully dremel off the metal tip so that it no longer functions/comes in contact with the casings, but i'd rather not go that route because i dont want to scratch up anything in that general area.

Edit: Problem solved, I removed the metal part from the LCI, it feeds smoother than ever.

http://www.guntalk-online.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=398

"The little pin underneath is the part that holds the LCI in place. To remove it you have to remove the receiver, then press slightly on the LCI lever with one hand and either tap the receiver on a padded surface or tap the underside of the receiver, at the front lug well, with a rubber mallet. Once you get the pin out you can remove the LCI for cleaning. The return spring of the LCI lever keeps the pivot pin held in place."

LCIremoval2.JPG

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------