Ruger Competition Model Mark II ??

Jeff Thomas

One of our local shops has had one of these on display for some time. Pricey, but well below 'MSRP'. They call it a 'slabside', apparently with some disdain.

While it says 'Target Model' on the side, it appears to be this 'Competition Model' per my review of Ruger's web site.

This sidearm fits my hand like a glove, has great balance, and looks great, in my book. I'm very tempted to take the plunge and buy this one. Besides simply taking it to the range, I'd use it to introduce new shooters to the sport ... biggest downside there is the weight, especially for kids.

I'll never be a competitive pistol shooter. Is this a foolish buy? I have no experience with this pistol, but it appears to have a sterling reputation ... only complaint I've noted is the difficulty of cleaning them.

Your perspectives are appreciated.

Regards from AZ

Ledbetter

Greetings,

I've got one of these. Awesome pistol, weak point is trigger which is really not too bad and easily worked on. Accuracy is better than you or me, probably.

I put Hogue wraparound rubber grips on mine to make it more like my defensive pistols and allow ambidextrous practice.

As you note, weight is more than average. Sometimes I wish I had a lighter pistol for my ten year old daughter. However, the included scope mount and rings more than compensate for the weight difference. I put a Tasco 2x scope on mine.

Regards,

Ledbetter

CoastieN70

Got one, Love it! Disagree about the trigger complaint of Ledbetter. Mine is smooth and consistant with no creap and always breaks at 2.5 pounds.
Weight is what makes it a target pistol. If a pistol is too light it drifts off target too easily.
Buy it you won't regret it.

weegee

CoastieN70, your comments apply precisely to mine--trigger is surprisingly good (for a Ruger/lawyer-designed trigger).