Rock Island 1911s

xdshooter

Has anyone ever owned and/or fired a Rock Island 1911? If so what do you think of them? I was thinking about either a rifle or a 1911 for my next toy, and I really cant spend that much money on one. I was thinking a Galil .223 or a Rock Island 1911. They are far closer to my price range than like a colt or a kimber. Or even a springfield. Anyways thanks for the advice in advance! :)

egor20

I've been carrying a RIA CS off and on for 6+ years. Its very well built for the money, I've had 2 FTFs and 1 FTEs in all that time (I blame the ammo not the gun). BTW I have two Galils, nice shooting guns, one scoped and one iron site with a folding stock.

ChrisJ715

Had an RIA for about 6 years now. Never a problem that didn't involve bad ammo. I love it. Accurate, reliable. Great value for the money.

SilentHitz

I own 2 RIA Tactical models, and they both run as good as any of my other 1911s. Just invest in some good magazines, some RIAs come with cheap mags. One of mine did and I tossed it and got some Chip Mc mags...runs great now.

xdshooter

For mags, I see some 7rd mags in the catalog I got today :) for 6.99. They also have 8rd Armscor Novac mags for 19.99 each. I was thinking that the 6.99 ones may be cheaply made since no manufacturer is listed. I guess I could go ahead and buy 2 of the armscor 8rders.

Last edited:

1911A1Bob

I had one of the plain-jane GI models a while back. It wouldn't feed hollowpoints very well (at least not Hydra Shoks or Golden Sabers), but with FMJ it would go all day and work beautifully. As a GI style gun it had the small sights but once I drifted them to the right to reflect the POI for the 230gr load I was using it was very accurate.

xdshooter