Rifled barrels

Dano4734

I know it has been discussed many times and I shoot sabots in my rifled barrel shotgun But if we shoot lead cast bullets out of our revolvers and jacketed too along with our hunting rifles like a 45-70 etc, how is a rifled barrel shotgun any different from a pumpkin ball or a sabot from a rifled barrel other than accuracy?

Drm50

I'm confused with your wording but if you mean firing other than saboted slugs in a rifled
barrel accuracy would be the difference. I have a lot of experience with slug guns. In most
cases a good smooth bore gun will shoot standard Foster Slugs into 3" at 100yds. Most
rifled barrels won't. I assume you are calling a standard Foster slug a Pumpkin ball, which
they aren't. Pumpkin ball is solid ball and I don't think you can buy factory loads anymore.
The only ones I have shot were handloads. The rifled barrel shooting the right sabot will
out shoot smooth bores. If you are using standard slugs the rifled barrel is a waste in most
cases. We were always looking for the edge with slugs because we had to use them. We made all kinds of slugs, bought molds and factory cast gimmick slugs. Both saboted and
non sabot types. Even used Brass casings in 12g. What we found out it was hard to beat the
factory made slugs of any type. Also that if most of your shots are 100yds or less there is
no point in going to rifled barrels and expensive sabots. The best slugs I have used in smooth bore Rems , Ithacas and Brownings is the Brenneke.

T. O'Heir

It's not the barrel. It's the slug itself. A Foster slug has the rifling on the slug. A sabotted slug does not. A rifle bullet, cast or jacketed, has no rifling on it either.

44 AMP

Staff
A Foster slug has the rifling on the slug

Not exactly. It has what looks like rifling, but isn't. At least not in the spin inducing sense like rifle and pistol barrels.