Rifle for newbie longgunner

gumshoe4

Howdy all...I've been doing the handgun thing now for about 20 years, but I've recently been giving some thought to having a rifle to allow a bit more "reach out and touch" range. I've owned a few, mainly a Plainfield .30 cal carbine, which I really liked, but I know nothing, essentially, about rifles. Here are the criteria:

1. I'm left-handed with longarms.
2. Bolt, lever or semi would work, but bolt will have to be left-handed.
3. Prefer non-military pattern (I'm not casting aspersions here, guys/gals, but I live in California and I don't want to beg the question with the morons we have in the state legislature).
4. Prefer inexpensive, plentiful ammo. I'm thinking .223 or .308, but would consider other calibers as well. I don't reload and don't wish to do so.
5. Don't want a custom gun; prefer something off the shelf for $700 or less.
6. Primary use is a plinking gun with some utility as a SHTF weapon.

Questions, comments, recommendations, suggestions.

Bob Locke

I'd be looking for something chambered for .308 because you can get milsurp ammo for "plinking" (though I have a hard time using that term with a .30 caliber weapon) and would have plenty of reach-out-and-touch capability. And if you ever decided that you needed or wanted to go hunting, you'd have plenty of gun for almost anything in North America.

I'd recommend a bolt-action. You can get solid LH offerings from Remington, Savage, or Ruger for under $700. If you want to get the rifle AND a scope for under $700, then you're probably limiting yourself to Savage.

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam
Definitely go along with recommending the .223 or .308 if you're not gonna handload. Lots of cheap ammo available.

If you doubt you'll take up hunting, or would limit it to varmints, I'd go the .223. It would do for SHTF, and it's a lot more pleasant for long shooting sessions.