Rifle for a newby

Fuzzy

I'm just getting into hunting. I've hunted for quail and rabbits a bit, but I'm thinking about starting into deer hunting. There are a few experienced hunters at the gym who will to take me with them, I just need to get a rifle.

The heartbreaker is that my aunt just sold my grandfathers .270 Winchester Model 70. I think he got it in the late 20s or early 30s and he kept it in prefect condition. The guy only gave her $350 for it. I almost screamed when I heard about it.

Anyway, what caliber should I look for? I'm leaning toward a 30-06 because of it's versatility. I live in Arizona, so I may eventually hunt anything from javolina to elk. I've been reading up an cartridges and it looks like for the '06 there is a cartridge for just about every animal. I would like to hear a few more opinions, though.

What brand of rifle should I look for? With my upcoming wedding, money is a little tight and I'd like to get something new. I've heard a lot of good things about Savage. Very accurate and reliable. I've also read about the new Remington 710. They both seem to fit the bill price wise. Wal-Mart has the Savage 111FCXP3 (comes with a 3x9x32 scope) for $380 and I hear the the Remington 710 (comes with a 3x9x40 scope) is in the same price range.

Any opinions?

Thanks,

Fuzz

Art Eatman

Staff in Memoriam
Hoo, boy! I can understand the screams over that Model 70!

For the types of hunting you're talking about, I'm partial to the '06.

I'm unfamiliar with that particular model of Savage, but the 110 has a good reputation.

The April issue of "Guns & Ammo" reports on a range test of the Remington 710. Three boxes of factory 180-grain Core Lokts gave groups which "...held to 1-1/2" until I ran out of ammo", the writer said. Suggested retail is $359; you might find a bit better through a dealer or WallyWorld. You might keep an eye out for an ad in Shotgun News...