Revolvers and locking points

mattgreennra

I'm a handgun novice and I had a little question that I've been wondering about. I know most revolver makers have their guns lockup ins 2 or 3 places.

-What are the advantages, or disadvantages to locking up in 3 places rather than 2?
+Does a gun that locks up in more places handle "house" loads better?

Thanks.

Dfariswheel

Few revolvers these days lock up in three places.
One of the few was the old pre-war S&W "Triple lock".

Guns like the Colt's and Dan Wesson's locked in one place, S&W and Ruger lock in two.

Some people claim that multiple locking points increase durability of the revolver, but this doesn't hold, since single lock guns proved over the years to be as long lasting as multiple lock guns.

What it comes down to is the designers idea of a locking method that worked for him.
The larger Dan Wesson's and the Colt Anaconda were famous for strength, even though they locked in only one place.

The Colt's lock only at the rear of the cylinder, but the locking pin is a fairly massive part, and the Colt's cylinder rotates clockwise, which presses it into the frame and uses the frame to support it.

The S&W locks at the rear of the cylinder and at the front of the ejector rod.
However, the S&W rear locking pin is comparatively tiny, and the lock at the front is not particularly strong or durable.
Both seem to last equally long.

Tom2