Revisited topic...

odugrad

I know this dead horse has been beaten repeatedly. But...here goes...

I'm getting a new firearm this weekend and it's between the Glock 19 and Walther PPQ. I've fired both and am leaning toward the Walther. I know the G19 is going to have more aftermarket accessories and magazines are less expensive. The Walther felt better and I like the trigger better. This is going to be used for home defense/EDC.

So...based on your experiences, can you provide me any reason why I should go Glock over Walther? Is there some obvious, glaring reason to choose over the other?

Spats McGee

Administrator
My usual caveat: I have no experience with the PPQ. I do have experience with the G19.

I suspect that the G19 will have slightly better aftermarket support. Right, wrong, or indifferent, if someone makes a widget, they make a widget for Glocks.

That said, I ran through some of the holster makers that I have bookmarked, and it looks like most, if not all, of the ones I have bookmarked make holsters for the PPQ. I don't recall reading bunches of stories about defective or underperforming PPQs (or any significant number, actually), so I'll guess that they run just fine.

If you like the PPQ, get the PPQ.

Lohman446

Shoot whatever you want. No gun is for everyone.

However every year or couple years you here that gun X is going to knock off Glock as the "big dog" in polymer pistols. Then later its gun Y. Then gun Z. Through it all Glock seems to hold its spot as the benchmark against which others judge themselves.

There is a reason the benchmark is the benchmark and has held that spot for a long time. Does it make it the right choice for you? I have no idea. It is worth considering.

I'm with Spats McGee on this one.

I had a PPQ and have a Glock 19 now.

Wasn't wow'd at the PPQ. I purchased it when it first came out and didn't understand all the hype. So I gave it to one of my best friends who's a lefty.