Remington and their Stupid A** Ideas!

Waterengineer

In another thread I wrote about purchasing a black stock stainless 30-06 from a friend of mine that is having a tough time.

Well, I picked it up today. Let me say it has one of the stupidest azz ideas I think I have ever seen Also, let me say that I would have walked away from the deal if the guy wasn't a friend.

OK, the Remington BDL has this this stupid key that you need to unlock the bolt!

What happens if you forget your stupid key at home or where ever? I can just about imagine staning next to the truck wanting to get ready to go.......No key!

Whose stupid azz idea was this anyway?

Does Remington think they know me, my family and friends better than I do that I need another "safety"?

This thing is S-T-U-P-I-D !!!!!!!!!!!

Who knows how to do away with it, break it, throw it away, or otherwise do away with it?

I suppose someone will post saying it illegal to tamper with. I'm an engineer, I'll figure it out if I need to.

Stupid, stupid, stupid!

Thanks for letting me rant!

cerberus65

The little j-lock thing? Yep, stupid as all get out! :mad:

I have a 700 ADL with that extra "feature". Since it came in the unlocked position, my solution was just to never get the key anywhere near it. So far no problem...

I've heard you can replace the bolt but I forget where I read that. Not much help (other than commiserating). Sorry.

Loader9

It's called a J Bolt and they don't make it anymore. They did it for a few years as a safety item for folks with kids. You could lock the bolt and kids wouldn't/couldn't get the rifle into battery. You can easily buy a Callahan Speed lock from Midway along with a bolt shroud to get rid of the crap. The spring inside the bolt is crap too which is why the Callahan Speed lock. It will make the trigger work a BUNCH better too.

Waterengineer

Hunter: Yes, I have the key

Loader: A little more explaination please